Sunday, Jun 23 2024 | Time 10:23 Hrs(IST)
States » East

Bihar records nearly 56% voting in phase 5 LS polls

Bihar records nearly 56% voting in phase 5 LS polls

Patna, May 20 (UNI) An estimated 55.85 percent of the 95.11 lakh electorate exercised their franchise till 6 PM during the 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections covering five seats in Bihar amid tight security arrangements on Monday.
The elections during the day sealed the fate of 80 candidates including LJP (Ram Vilas) president Chirag Paswan, former Union Minister Rajeev Pratap Rudy and Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur.
Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Bihar H R Srinivas told media persons that an estimated 55.85 percent polling was recorded till 6 PM when voting ended in the five seats. The voting figure is expected to go up as a large number of people were waiting in the queues outside many polling booths.
He hoped the final voting figure would surpass the 57.07 percent polling recorded in the same five seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.
Srinivas said the polling passed off peacefully as no untoward incident was reported from anywhere in the five constituencies.
Voters boycotted polling at booth number 79 in the Aurai assembly segment and 140 in the Gaighat assembly segment of Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seats protesting against a lack of development, he said.
Foolproof security arrangements were made to ensure free and fair polling. A total of 40,000 jawans of paramilitary forces and 18,000 homeguards were deployed.
The Lok Sabha seats where polling was held are Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Hajipur and Saran. NDA had bagged all these seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. BJP had bagged Madhubani, Muzaffarpur and Saran while JD(U) and LJP clinched Sitamarhi and Hajipur seat respectively. The opposition then contesting as Grand Alliance had drawn blank in all these seats.
With the voting ending in five seats on Monday, the polling process has been completed in 24 of the total 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar so far. The last two phases of elections would be held in the rest of the seats on May 25 and June 1 respectively.
The five seats witnessed straight fights between NDA and INDIA bloc candidates. Most of the parties that had contested as constituents of the Grand Alliance in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections are now contesting as partners of the INDIA bloc in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections.
In NDA, BJP contested in Muzaffarpur, Madhubani and Saran Lok Sabha seat while its allies JD(U) and LJP (Ram Vilas) contested in Sitamarhi and Hajipur seat respectively. In the INDIA bloc, RJD contested in four seats barring Congress which contested in the Muzaffarpur seat.
In Saran Lok Sabha seat, sitting BJP MP Rajeev Pratap Rudy contested against Rohini Acharya of RJD. She is daughter of RJD chief Lalu Prasad and had donated her kidney to him during his illness due to kidney failure.
In Hajipur, the president of LJP (Ram Vilas) Chirag Paswan is contesting against RJD candidate Shiv Chandra Ram.
Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur is trying his Luck from Sitamarhi seat on JD(U) ticket.
In Madhubani seat, Ashok Kumar Yadav contested on BJP ticket while RJD had fielded Ali Ashraf Fatmi against him. Yadav is the sitting MP from Madhubani.
In the Muzaffarpur seat, Ajay Nishad who had won as BJP candidate from here in the last Lok Sabha election, contested on Congress ticket from this seat.
Polling was held in 19 of 40 Lok Sabha seats during the first four phases of Bihar's seven-phased Lok Sabha elections. Counting of votes will be taken up on June 4. UNI KKS SSP

More News

Army facilitates community prayer ceremony at 1st border village of Gelling

22 Jun 2024 | 10:00 PM

Itanagar, Jun 22 (UNI) In a gesture of solidarity and community engagement, the Indian Army’s Spear Corps
has facilitated a significant prayer ceremony for the local residents of Arunachal Pradesh, sources said on Saturday.

see more..

Patna Mind Fest a marker of vibrance in society :Sharan

22 Jun 2024 | 9:40 PM

Patna, June 21( UNI) Former Chief Secretary of Bihar, Tripurari Sharan said that Patna Mind Fest, an annual event designed to stimulate the mind and foster spirit of learning and competition is a marker of vibrance in society.

see more..

Arunachal: Police averts dacoity with arrest of five including 3 ex-NDFB cadres

22 Jun 2024 | 8:40 PM

Itanagar, June 22 (UNI) The East Siang District Police in Arunachal Pradesh on Saturday claimed to have averted a dacoity in the Pasighat market area with the arrest of five individuals, including three surrendered cadres of National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB), a militant group of neighbouring Assam.
East Siang District Superintendent of Police, Dr Sachin Kumar Singhal informed that input was received that an Assam-based group including surrendered cadres of NDFB was hatching a conspiracy and ‘would be’ executing dacoity at one of the shops in the Pasighat market area, indulging in high cash transactions.

see more..
Lakhs of devotees witness  royal bath and

Lakhs of devotees witness royal bath and "Hati Vesh" of Trinity of Sri Jagannath Temple

22 Jun 2024 | 8:14 PM

Puri, Jun 22 (UNI) Braving the heavy downpour, lakhs of devotees thronged the grand road of this pilgrim city on Saturday to witness the grand royal bathing ceremony and “Hati Vesh “, of lord Jagannath, his elder Balavadra and their sister Devi Subhadra of Sri Jagannath temple
The royal bathing ceremony popularly called Snan Purnima, is considered a major ritual prelude to the famous Car Festival or Rath Yatra of the lords.

see more..
Breath analyser report, not conclusive proof of liquor consumption: HC

Breath analyser report, not conclusive proof of liquor consumption: HC

22 Jun 2024 | 8:08 PM

Patna, June 22 (UNI) Patna High Court has ruled that a breath analyser report could not be treated as conclusive and convincing proof of liquor consumption.

see more..