Sunday, Jun 23 2024 | Time 09:45 Hrs(IST)
States » East

Bihar: Polling underway in 5 LS seats in 5th phase

Bihar: Polling underway in 5 LS seats in 5th phase

Patna, May 20 (UNI) Polling began on a peaceful note for the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections in five seats in Bihar amid tight security arrangements at 7 am on Monday.
A total of 95.83 lakh electorates would be exercising their franchise to decide the fate of 80 candidates including LJP (Ram Vilas) president Chirag Paswan, former Union Minister Rajeev Pratap Rudy and Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur.
Lok Sabha seats where polling is in progress are --Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Hajipur and Saran . NDA had bagged all these seats in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. BJP had won Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, and Saran, while JD (U) and LJP had won Sitamarhi and Hajipur, respectively.
A large number of electorate members are seen waiting in long lines for their turns to exercise their franchise. Women and first-time voters are much enthusiastic about cast their votes.
In all five seats, there is straight fight between NDA and INDIA bloc candidates. Most of the parties who had contested as constituents of Grand Alliance in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, are now contesting as partners of INDIA bloc.
In NDA, BJP is contesting the Muzaffarpur, Madhubani, and Saran Lok Sabha seats, while its allies JD (U) and LJP (Ram Vilas) are contesting Sitamarhi and Hajipur seats, respectively. In INDIA bloc, RJD is contesting four seats, barring Congress, which is contesting the Muzaffarpur seat.
In the Saran Lok Sabha seat, sitting BJP MP Rajeev Pratap Rudy, is pitted against Rohini Acharya of RJD. She is daughter of RJD chief Lalu Prasad and donated her kidney to him during his illness due to kidney failure. Rohini has been in the news for posting satarical comments with political overtures on her social media account X.
In Hajipur, president of the LJP ( Ram Vilas) is contesting against RJD candidate Shiv Chandra Ram. In last Lok Sabha elections, former Union Minister Pashupati Kumar Paras won as LJP candidate from this seat. After death of LJP president and Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan, his party disintegrated, and one faction was headed by his son Chirag while other faction was headed by his brother Paras.
The BJP has virtually recognised LJP (Ram Vilas), headed by Chirag, as real LJP and given it all seats to contest during seat sharing in the NDA,, which were earlier contested by LJP in last Lok Sabha elections.
Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur is trying his Luck from Sitamarhi seat on JD(U) ticket.
Thakur has replaced Sunil Kumar Pintu who had won from this seat on JD(U) ticket in last Lok Sabha elections. RJD has fielded Arjun Rai against Thakur.
In Madhubani seat , Ashok Kumar Yadav is contesting on BJP ticket while RJD has fielded Mohammad Ali Ashraf Fatmi against him. Yadav is sitting MP and contesting to defend his seat.
In Muzaffarpur seat, Ajay Nishad who had won as BJP candidate from here, is now contesting on Congress ticket. Interestingly, BJP had fielded Rajbhushan Nishad as its candidate, who had contested on VIP ticket from this seat in the last Lok Sabha elections.
A total of 95,11,186 electorates, including 49,99,627 males, 45,11,259 females, and 300 third genders are eligible to exercise their franchise at 9,436 polling stations in five seats. There are 27 model polling stations, and 33 of them are being managed by women only.
Webcasting is being done at 4,699 polling stations. Paramilitary forces, state police, and homeguard jawans have been deployed to ensure free and fair polling.
Polling was held in 19 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats during the first four phases of the five-phase Lok Sabha elections in Bihar. The counting of votes would be taken up on June 4.

More News

Army facilitates community prayer ceremony at 1st border village of Gelling

22 Jun 2024 | 10:00 PM

Itanagar, Jun 22 (UNI) In a gesture of solidarity and community engagement, the Indian Army’s Spear Corps
has facilitated a significant prayer ceremony for the local residents of Arunachal Pradesh, sources said on Saturday.

see more..

Patna Mind Fest a marker of vibrance in society :Sharan

22 Jun 2024 | 9:40 PM

Patna, June 21( UNI) Former Chief Secretary of Bihar, Tripurari Sharan said that Patna Mind Fest, an annual event designed to stimulate the mind and foster spirit of learning and competition is a marker of vibrance in society.

see more..

Arunachal: Police averts dacoity with arrest of five including 3 ex-NDFB cadres

22 Jun 2024 | 8:40 PM

Itanagar, June 22 (UNI) The East Siang District Police in Arunachal Pradesh on Saturday claimed to have averted a dacoity in the Pasighat market area with the arrest of five individuals, including three surrendered cadres of National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB), a militant group of neighbouring Assam.
East Siang District Superintendent of Police, Dr Sachin Kumar Singhal informed that input was received that an Assam-based group including surrendered cadres of NDFB was hatching a conspiracy and ‘would be’ executing dacoity at one of the shops in the Pasighat market area, indulging in high cash transactions.

see more..
Lakhs of devotees witness  royal bath and

Lakhs of devotees witness royal bath and "Hati Vesh" of Trinity of Sri Jagannath Temple

22 Jun 2024 | 8:14 PM

Puri, Jun 22 (UNI) Braving the heavy downpour, lakhs of devotees thronged the grand road of this pilgrim city on Saturday to witness the grand royal bathing ceremony and “Hati Vesh “, of lord Jagannath, his elder Balavadra and their sister Devi Subhadra of Sri Jagannath temple
The royal bathing ceremony popularly called Snan Purnima, is considered a major ritual prelude to the famous Car Festival or Rath Yatra of the lords.

see more..
Breath analyser report, not conclusive proof of liquor consumption: HC

Breath analyser report, not conclusive proof of liquor consumption: HC

22 Jun 2024 | 8:08 PM

Patna, June 22 (UNI) Patna High Court has ruled that a breath analyser report could not be treated as conclusive and convincing proof of liquor consumption.

see more..