Friday, Jun 22 2018 | Time 16:56 Hrs(IST)
  • Raghubar directs to create awareness among youth SC/ST/OBC youths
  • Sun Pharma up by 3 91 pc to Rs 576 30
  • Latvia investigates complaint linking bank to Russian fraud
  • Mallikarjun Kharge appointed AICC Gen Secy incharge Maharashtra in place of Mohan Prakash
  • Italian bonds regain footing, Greece gets debt relief
  • Nine security personnel injured in militant grenade attack in south Kashmir
  • Kunti gangrape: National Woman Commission seeks report from Jharkhand DGP
  • Fully fit and ready to go for the UK tour says Kohli
  • EU leaders set to prolong Russia sanctions again
  • IAF ready for any challenge: Dhanova
  • Need to raise country’s share in total global exports to 3 4 %, from the current 1 6 %: PM
  • Dacoit held after encounter in Maha
  • Fenerbahce sign PSV coach Cocu for three years
  • Mamata's China trip cancelled
Election Share

Assam: 65 pc polling Dhemaji byelection

Guwahati, Apr 9 (UNI) More than 65 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the Dhemaji bye election in Assam where polling came to an end at 4 pm in the evening with the Congress alleging that BJP used money power to influence voters.
There were also reports of EVN malfunctioning in few booths but overall the polling passed off peacefully in a in tribal dominated assembly constituency which will decide on the fate of five popular political leaders in the by election.
With a huge turn out the polling ended at 4 pm in the afternoon simultaneously in the entire Dhemaji constituency, an assembly segment of Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat which elected Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in 2014 two years ahead of the BJP leader taking over as the state chief minister.
Amid watertight security the polling materials have been stored at the strong rooms to be unsealed on Monday for counting when the elected representative name would be announced in the afternoon.
Earlier the voting started at 7 in the morning simultaneously across 273 booths where the electorates —new and old alike- lined up to exercise their franchise.
Five candidates are in the fray.
But the keen contest seems to be confined between Dr Ranuj Pegu from BJP and Babul Sonowal from Congress, both tall tribal leaders.
The assembly by polls was necessitated after Pradan Baruah, a BJP legislator was elected to the Lok Sabha in place of Sarbananda Sonowal, who took over as Assam Chief Minister.

More News

Chengannur Bypoll: LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan wins by a margin of 20,956 votes

31 May 2018 | 1:33 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) Kerala's Ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Candidate Saji Cheriyan won the Chengannur Assembly seat by a margin of 20,956 votes.

 Sharesee more..

Saji Cheriyan leads by 7154 votes in Chengannur Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:57 AM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan is leading by over 7154 votes after five rounds of voting in Chengannur Assembly seat in Kerala.

 Sharesee more..

LDF leads in Chengannur Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:55 AM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) Counting for the May 28 Chengannur Assembly bypoll, where Kerala's ruling CPI(M)-led LDF, Opposition Congress-led UDF and BJP-led NDA were in the fray, was underway on Thursday with initial trends showing that the LDF candidate is leading.

 Sharesee more..

Congress surges to early lead over BJP in RR Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:31 AM

Bengaluru, May 31 (UNI) The counting for Rajarajeshwari Nagar Assembly constituency in Karnataka began on Thursday with Congress candidate taking the early lead over his nearest BJP rival.

 Sharesee more..

Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal issues notices to 5 states to nominate representatives

30 May 2018 | 7:56 PM

(Rptg, correcting slug)
Bhubaneswar, May 30 (UNI) Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal has issued notice to
Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra to nominate
their representatives for adjudication of Mahanadi River Water Disputes latest by
August 6, 2018.

 Sharesee more..