Wednesday, May 22 2019 | Time 14:30 Hrs(IST)
  • J&K Guv apologises to public on Kashmir highway ban, says decision taken in national interest
  • HP: Counting of votes from 0800 hrs on Thursday
  • One dies in bomb blast and 20 arrested in volatile Bhatpara; Repoll on at Jorasanko
  • Anti-Sterlite Protests: First anniversary of death of 13 people in police firing observed
  • Rahul cautions Congress workers, says next 24 hrs crucial
  • Austrian president consoles public in wake of coalition gov't collapse
  • Stage set for counting of votes in Telangana tomorrow
  • SC stays BJP candidate's arrest till May 28
  • Huge explosion rocks Mogadishu, casualties feared
  • Yemen's Houthi rebels launch fresh drone attack on Saudi Najran airport
  • Local Taliban leader among 16 militants killed in Afghanistan
  • No IED blast on LoC, soldiers injured in training event in Poonch: Army
  • Five militants killed in Eastern Afghan province airstrike
  • 12 Bangladeshi peacekeepers to be honoured by UN on May 29
  • SC to hear Barrackpore BJP candidate petition today

All Bengal Open Fide Rating Chess Tournament inaugurated by Manoj Tiwary

Kolkata, Mar 15 (UNI) The 1st DD-DBCA All Bengal Open Fide Rating Chess
Tournament was inaugurated by Manoj Tiwary, eminent cricketer, in the
presence of Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua and C K Dhanuka (Chairman &
Managing Director of Dhunseri Group) here today.
This tournament is being organised by Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua
Chess Academy in association with Allsport Management.
The Rs 200000 Prize Money tournament has attracted a total of 218 players
including upcoming players like Women International Master Chandreyee Hazra,
Koustav Chatterjee, Neelash Saha, Aronyak Ghosh and Swapan Mitra.
A total of 9 rounds will be played in the tournament under the rules of Swiss
system wherein all the players get to play a total of 9 games, with the final
placings being decided on the total of number of points scored by each
All the seeded players had easy wins in the first round.
Important Results: Round 1:
Koustav Chatterjee(1) beat Saptarshi Talukdar (0)
Shayan Das(0) lost to Aronyak Ghosh (1)
Neelash Saha(1) beat Sagnik Ray (0)
Soham Biswas(0) lost to Arpan Das (1)
Mitra Swapan(1) beat Saparya Ghosh (0)
Sohom Chatterjee(0) lost to Debasish Mukherjee (1)
Sourath Biswas(1) beat Banik Hrishikesh Kumar (0)
Biyas Banerjee(0) lost to Chandreyee Hajra (1)
Dhar Manodip(1) beat Mayanka Paul(0)
Suvraneel Ghosh(0) lost to Sanket Chakravarty(1)
More News
Indian runner Gomathi fails dope test, suspended provisionally

Indian runner Gomathi fails dope test, suspended provisionally

22 May 2019 | 2:10 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) India's 800m Asian Athletics Championships gold medallist Gomathi Marimuthu has been provisionally suspended after being tested positive for a banned substance at last month's Doha Asians and the Federation Cup.

see more..

Zhu-less China lose to Brazil 3-0 in women's Nations League opener

22 May 2019 | 1:48 PM

Brasilia, May 22 (Xinhua) China's women missed star player Zhu Ting as they lost 3-0 to Brazil in their opening match at the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Nations League.

see more..

Man United join battle for Brazilian striker Pedro

22 May 2019 | 11:19 AM

Rio de Janeiro, May 22 (Xinhua) Manchester United have joined the race to sign highly rated Fluminense striker Pedro, according to media reports in Brazil.

see more..

Costa Rica captain Ruiz resumes training with eye on Gold Cup

22 May 2019 | 10:51 AM

Rio de Janeiro, May 22 (Xinhua) Costa Rica national team captain Bryan Ruiz has returned to training with Brazilian club Santos as he bids to prove his fitness ahead of this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

see more..
Indian Cricket team leaves for World Cup 2019

Indian Cricket team leaves for World Cup 2019

22 May 2019 | 10:07 AM

Mumbai, May 22 (UNI) Indian Cricket team on Wednesday left from Mumbai airport to take part in the much awaited International Cricket Council (ICC) Men's Cricket World Cup in England, starting from May 30.

see more..