Friday, Apr 20 2018 | Time 12:09 Hrs(IST)
image image
  • BJP Rae Bareli rally tomorrow, Cong MLC and others to join BJP
  • Kovind, Narasimhan greets CM on his birthday
  • About 40 slightly injured in Austrian train accident - police
  • Tourism deptt to promote glass top coach to attract upscale visitors in Kashmir
  • Woman dies in fire at care home in northeast London
  • PwC had cleared Facebook's privacy practices in leak period
  • Modi Govt heralded new scales of development: Amit Shah
  • French police evacuate occupied Paris university site
  • Omar takes dig at Dy CM for questioning Kathua rape-murder case probe
  • AP CM begins fast for not granting SCS by Centre
  • Leh, Mughal roads closed due to snow-landslides, Kashmir highway through
  • Japan warns G20 protectionism will disrupt markets
  • Another minor raped, murdered in Etah
  • Southwest challenged engine maker over speed of safety checks
  • Alabama executes inmate, 83, oldest in modern U S history
Election Share

Aarohan Wanderlust announces Mountaineering Expeditions to Mt Everest and Mt Lhotse starts on Apr 20

Kolkata, Apr 17 (UNI) Aarohan Wanderlust, the Adventure wing of most renowned Aarohan Trust today announced the Mountaineering Expeditions to Mt Everest (8848 metres) and Mt. Lhotse (8415 metres - the fourth highest peak in the world).
The expedition is scheduled to start from Kolkata Airport on April 20 at 1350 hours to Kathmandu, Nepal and then to Lukla on April 21 taking the South side route of Everest. The team is expected to reach the base camp on April 24. From the base camp it will take around a month to reach the Everest and Lhotse summit depending on the weather.
Two experienced climbers from Bengal, Kuntal Kanrar and Md. Sahabuddin will try to climb the Everest on this expedition. It's a diverse team in terms of combined mountaineering expertise.
The team is mentored by India's ace mountaineer Debasish Biswas.
He is the Arjun Awardee in Mountaineering (Tenzing Norgey National Adventure Award) & Gold Medal winner from Indian Mountaineering Foundation, the highest award in mountaineering in India and the only Civilian Indian to have climbed 5 Eight thousander peak - Everest, Kanchenjunga, Annapurna, Makalu and Manaslu.
Biswas will attempt Mt. Lhotse and will climb with the team as Everest and Lhotse has the same climbing route till camp 3.
In 2016 also, Debasish had tried to climb Lhotse, but when he reached in Camp-4, one Sherpa fell and died there and the expedition was cancelled. Biswas was forced to return back.
In the same time 3 climbers from Bengal died at Everest Expedition and since Everest and Lhotse are two adjacent peaks, Debasish joined in the rescue operation. That time he could rescue only the body of Subhas Paul. The bodies of other two, Goutam Ghosh and Paresh Nath are lying at the height of near and above 8000 mt. This year he will try to rescue their bodies besides his climbing.
Aarohan also announced the expedition to Carstenstz Pyramid at Papua New Guinea on May 8 which is the highest mountain in Oceania and is one of the 7 summits.
Satyarup Siddhanta who has climbed Mt Everest last year from Bengal is in his pursuit to climb the highest mountain of each continent. This will be his 6th of the 7 summit.
More News

Shah targets Chidambaram with ‘Pakoda’ jibe again

19 Apr 2018 | 7:38 PM

Bengaluru, Apr 19 (UNI) A 'born-rich' former Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram can’t appreciate the hard work of a Pakoda seller, BJP National President Amit Shah said on Thursday and ridiculed the senior Congress leader while attempting to woo Tamil voters in the city.

 Sharesee more..

Shah rakes up Tipu row once again, seeks support of OBCs

19 Apr 2018 | 7:03 PM

Bengaluru, Apr 19 (UNI) The BJP chief Amit Shah on Thursday sought to invoke the Hindutva sentiment by raking up once again the controversy related to celebration of Tipu Sultan Jayanti by Siddaramaiah government in Karnataka.

 Sharesee more..

Election-Karnataka-Raids two last Bengaluru

19 Apr 2018 | 6:59 PM

Mr Sanjiv Kumar said that the Election Commission has sought a report from the State Government with regard to the transfer of Hassan Deputy Commissioner and District Returning Officer Rohini Sindhuri following a direction from the Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) which had dismissed her petition against the transfer.

 Sharesee more..

BJP evolving special electoral strategy to tap IT work force, new comers

19 Apr 2018 | 6:56 PM

Nirendra Dev
Bengaluru, Apr 19 (UNI) Already into a feverish pitch for the May 12 Karnataka assembly elections , the BJP is keen to make use of its 'popularity' at the national level especially encashing Prime Minister Narendra Modi's image and therefore is all set to make a significant dent among migrant voters in key constituencies in the state capital.

 Sharesee more..

A whopping Rs 34 39 Cr cash seized

19 Apr 2018 | 6:46 PM

Bengaluru, Apr 19 (UNI) A whopping Rs 34.

 Sharesee more..