Saturday, Jun 15 2024 | Time 03:19 Hrs(IST)
States » East

59.60 voting till 5 pm in Odisha

59.60 voting till 5 pm in Odisha

Bhubaneswar, May 25 (UNI) Approximately 59.60 percent of 94.41 lakh electorate have exercised their franchise till 5 PM in Six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats, spread over 10 districts in the third phase of election in Odisha on Saturday.

ECI sources said a maximum of 65.91 percent of voters voted in the Sambalpur Lok Sabha Constituency followed by 62.43 percent in Keonjhar, 61.17 percent in Puri, 60.88 percent in Dhenkanal, 54.36 percent in Cuttack, and 53.54 percent in Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha Constituency till 1700 hours.
Pallahara Assembly Constituency reported the highest polling of 73.86 percent and Sambalpur Assembly Constituency reported the lowest voting turnout of 54.40 percent till 5 PM.
Kuchinda Assembly Constituency reported 72.55 percent voting followed by Deogarh 67 percent, Athamallik 66.20 percentm Begunia 65.70 percent, Jaydev 64.80 percent , Patna 65.25 percent, Brahmagiri, Pipili 65 percent each, Champua 64.14 percent, Hindol 63. 52 percent, Khandapara 63.50 percent, Ghasipura 62.30 percent, Karnjia 61.38 percent, Keonjhar 61.36 percent, Chilika 60.12 percent and Cuttack Sadar Assembly Constituency 60 percent.
The Barbati Cuttack Assembly Constituency reported 42.10 percent polling, Bhubanesswar central 44.12 percent, Bhubaneswar north 45 percent, Chowdwar Cuttack 42.90 percent and Ekram Bhubaneswar Assembly Constituency 49.50 percent voter turnout.
Anandpur, Anugul, Athagarh, Banki, Baramba, Dhenkanal, Kamakhya nagar, Khurda, and Nayagarha Assembly Constituencies reported above 50 percent polling till 5 PM.
The Six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats will seal the electoral fortunes of 447 candidates, including 43 women candidates.
Reports of group clash and rigging were received from several booths but it has not been confirmed by official sources.
In several places voting was delayed due to malfunctioning of EVMs for more than two hours
Long queues were seen in front of several polling booths even after 6 pm.

More News

Bihar AC bypoll: JDU fields Kaladhar Mandal from Rupauli

14 Jun 2024 | 9:53 PM

Patna, June 14 (UNI) The ruling Janata Dal United announced Kaladhar Prasad Mandal as its candidate from Rupauli assembly seat in the July 10 bye-election.

see more..

Bihar govt to give unemployment allowance under MANREGA

14 Jun 2024 | 9:37 PM

Patna, June 14 (UNI) Bihar government has decided to pay unemployment allowances to the unemployed labourers under Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MANREGA).

see more..

Meghalaya to spend Rs 5K cr on tourism to create 50K jobs

14 Jun 2024 | 9:36 PM

Shillong, June 14 (UNI) Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Friday said that the state government will spend Rs 5,000 crore in tourism sector which will create 50,000 jobs in Meghalaya.

see more..

Over 1200 tourists stranded at Lachung in North Sikkim following landslides

14 Jun 2024 | 8:50 PM

Gangtok, June 14 (UNI) The Sikkim government on Friday said that all stranded tourists at Lachung in the farthest northern district--1200 domestic and 15 foreign nationals, are safe and efforts are on to evacuate them by choppers or by road, official sources said.

see more..

Meghalaya rights body seeks DGP report over police excesses

14 Jun 2024 | 8:49 PM

Shillong, June 14 (UNI) The Meghalaya Human Rights Commission (MHRC) on Friday sought a detailed report from State Director General of Police (DGP) over the alleged excess and abuse of power by police officials against a 65-year-old man.

see more..