Sunday, Sep 22 2019 | Time 11:21 Hrs(IST)
  • IRCTC’s Karva Chauth gift with launch of Majestic Rajasthan on Oct 14
  • Czech Prime Minister to fly to New York on Sunday ahead of UN General Assembly
  • Trump, Modi to Address Sunday Rally in Houston
  • Final day's proceedings of Telangana Assembly commence
  • UN welcomes Houthi offer to end attacks on Saudi Arabia
  • Countdown for Durga Puja begins; Locals rush for shopping
  • How PM charms Kashmiri Pandit delegation with 'Namo Namah' remark ?
  • US State Dept calls on Russia to respect Jehovah's witnesses followers
  • Kerala bypoll: Jacobites faction extends support to LDF
  • Flat issue: CPI to protest on Monday
  • Free Swarnaprashan camps across India on Sep 24
  • Energy sector honchos endorse Modi Govt's policy, want to enhance footprint in India
  • Kashmiri Pandit delegation meets Modi, backs India's decision on J and K
  • India's Petronet signs MoU for 5 MTPA LNG import with US company Tellurian
  • Zero emission vital for long-term industrial success: Swedish deputy PM
States » North

2 BJP candidates file nominations for RS bypolls in UP

2 BJP candidates file nominations for RS bypolls in UP

Lucknow, Sep 12 (UNI) BJP candidates Surendra Singh Nagar and Sanjay Seth on Thursday filed their nomination papers for the bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The Party had renominated Surendra Singh Nagar and Sanjay Seth for the bypolls, which were necessitated due to their resignation from these seats as Samajwadi Party members in August last. Just after resignation, both the leaders joined the BJP.

Today was the last day for filing of the nominations and both the BJP candidates preferred the day for it.

UP BJP president Swantratra Deo Singh, two deputy Chief Ministers-- Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma, besides other state ministers and BJP leaders were present when the candidates filed their nomination papers.

The scrutiny of papers would be done tomorrow and September 16 is the last date for withdrawal.

If polling will be required, then it will be held on September 23 from 0900 hrs to 1600 hrs and counting of votes from 1700 hrs on the same day.

But as BJP has absolute majority in the UP assembly, hence the party is slated to win both the seats without any contest.

If there is no contest, then candidates would be announced elected after last date of withdrawal.

Term of both the seats expire on July 4, 2020.

UNI MB SV 1150

More News

LPG blast kills 1

22 Sep 2019 | 2:16 AM

Jabalpur, MP, Sep 21 (UNI) A cooking gas cylinder explosion claimed a woman’s life in Patan on Saturday, law-enforcement authorities said.

see more..

Rain continues in MP

22 Sep 2019 | 2:07 AM

Bhopal, Sep 21 (UNI) South-western Madhya Pradesh is witnessing precipitation owing to the fact that a low-pressure area, which formed over the Arabian Sea, has transformed into a depression.

see more..

Temperature chart

22 Sep 2019 | 1:55 AM

Bhopal, Sep 21 (UNI) The maximum and minimum temperatures recorded on Saturday in Madhya Pradesh’s principal cities/towns:
Place Max Min (in degrees Celsius)
Bhopal 30.

see more..

Honeytrap politics in MP

22 Sep 2019 | 1:46 AM

Bhopal, Sep 21 (UNI) Madhya Pradesh politics took a fresh turn on Saturday with the Congress accusing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of adopting tactics such as honeytrapping in order to destabilise the dispensation.

see more..

Jabalpur gets Model Career Centre

22 Sep 2019 | 1:18 AM

Bhopal, Sep 21 (UNI) Not every person is talented but he or she possesses at least one skill and if that is honed then the individual’s future becomes brighter, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath averred on Saturday and stressed that his dispensation is paying special attention to upgrading abilities plus technical knowledge with the objective of scotching unemployment.

see more..